Creating Value
in Global
Maritime Markets.
Regardless of the weather.

Learn more

Investing in a perfect storm

Even post the financial crisis the shipping industry continues to be battered by its current environment. Overly optimistic assumptions around improvements in tonnage demand and the immense overcapacity in freight continues to challenge the industry on a daily basis.

In previous decades banks have played a dominant role in the ship financing market. Due to the lingering market stress and resulting provisioning requirements, in the banks’ loan portfolios, many banks are looking to withdraw from the business segment completely or to move all or parts of their exposures to institutional investors. At the same time many shipping funds, the main source of equity in previous decades, are at an impasse, thus creating immense additional need for fresh capital in this segment. Due to anticyclical investment tendencies, institutional capital could offer a way out of the capital squeeze. Many of these investors however have neither the necessary technological expertise, nor the specific banking know-how that is needed to properly manage these types of investments. Crystal Ocean offers a unique services package in this environment: Essential expert technological knowledge, financing know-how and the ability to model complex underlying risks by using advanced modeling techniques.


Learn more

Crystal Ocean: A unique combination createing new benchmarks

NORD/LB, OFFEN Group and Caplantic, three highly specialised market participants and leaders in their respective fields, have joined forces to set new standards in the restructuring of shipping loans and the related optimisation of the ship management. Crystal Ocean systematically interlocks the skill sets of the three participants to offer a unique service package that includes all stages of the value chain. We are offering a tailor made service combining specialised technological know-how and decades of experience in ship financing with customised financial modelling approaches. Our aim is to optimise cash flows, whether in the restructuring and work-out processes or in the individual technological optimisation of a vessel.

Crystal Ocean combines...

40 years of experience in shipping and one of the world’s leading managers of container vessels, bulk carriers and product tankers.*

Fleet 110 Vessels

* OFFEN Group

… combined with extensive experience in risk management and risk modelling of alternative asset equity and debt portfolios

Loan portfolios under risk management > EUR 15bn*
Single loans under risk management > 9,500*

* CAPLANTIC GmbH (As of: 31.01.2016)

… combined with Finance Know How

Over the course of more than 45 years NORD/LB has established its ship financing sector as one of its key strategic business segments. Due to the ongoing exposure to the maritime economy, throughout several cycles, the NORD/LB has evolved into one of the world’s leading providers of ship financing.

World’s leading providers of ship
Exposure at Default: 18,4bn


Our Services


Even the tallest towers start with the foundation

  • Data Mining
  • Due Diligence
  • Portfolio segmentation
  • Structuring / Modelling / Valuation
  • Advisory on external coordination processes

Learn more


Value enhancement of the assets through a unique combination of complementary expert knowledge

  • Support of the Restructuring Process
  • OPEX Optimastio
  • Manage the Manager (optimising the shipping operation)
  • Ongoing Valuation
  • Project Management
  • Reporting / Portfolio Modeling

Learn more


Support and advisory services for the entire sales process of single assets as well as whole portfolios

  • Vendor Due Diligence
  • Placement

Learn more

Creating Value
in Global
Maritime Markets.
Regardless of the weather.

Mehr erfahren

Investieren in schwerem Fahrwasser

Auch nach dem Ende der Finanzkrise befindet sich die Schifffahrtsbranche in schwerem Fahrwasser. Optimistische Annahmen über eine baldige Verbesserung der Nachfrage nach Tonnage haben sich zerschlagen und nach wie vor ist der Überhang an Frachtkapazität immens.

In den letzten Jahrzehnten haben Banken in der Schiffsfinanzierung die dominierende Rolle gespielt. Aufrgund der nachhaltig angespannten Situation des Marktes und einem vielfach daraus resultierenden Wertberichtigungsbedarf in den Kreditportfolien wollen sich viele Banken aus dem Geschäftsfeld zurückziehen und zumindest Teile ihrer Kreditportfolien an institutionelle Investoren abgeben. Auch die Haupteigenkapitalquelle der letzten Jahrzehnte, die Schiffsfonds, befinden sich häufig in einer als ausweglos erscheinenden Situation. In diesem Segment ist der Bedarf nach frischem Kapital daher ebenfalls enorm. Institutionelles Kapital könnte hier ein Ausweg sein, weil diese Investoren vielfach daran interessiert sind, antizyklisch zu investieren. Problematisch ist dabei allerdings, dass viele dieser Investoren weder über die erforderliche technologische Expertise noch über das gebotene spezielle Banking Know-How verfügen, um solche Investments vernünftig zu managen. Crystal Ocean bietet in diesem Umfeld eine einzigartige Dienstleistung an: Sie verfügt über das technologische Expertenwissen, das Finanzierungs-Know-how und die Fähigkeit, sämtliche Risiken auch modelltechnisch auf hohem Niveau abzubilden.

 

Mehr erfahren

Crystal Ocean: Eine einzigartige Kombination setzt neue Benchmarks

Mit der NORD/LB, der Offen Gruppe und der Caplantic haben sich hochgradig spezialisierte und führende Marktteilnehmer zusammen getan, um in der Restrukturierung von Schifffahrtsdarlehen und der vielfach damit verbundenen Optimierung des Schiffsmanagements neue Maßstäbe zu setzen. Die Skillsets dieser Anbieter wurden auf Crystal Ocean systematisch miteinander verzahnt, um ein einzigartiges Dienstleistungspaket anbieten zu können, welches alle erforderlichen Elemente der Wertschöpfungskette abdeckt. Wir bieten integrierte Dienstleistungen an, die technologisches Spezial-Know-How und jahrzehntelange Erfahrung in der Finanzierung von Schiffen mit finanzwirtschaftlichen Modellansätzen kombinieren und auf die Optimierung des Cashflows abzielen, unabhängig davon, ob es sich nur um die Restrukturierung bzw. den Workout von Krediten oder sogar um die technologische Optimierung eines Schiffes handelt.

Crystal Ocean kombiniert...

40 Jahre Erfahrung in der Frachtschifffahrt und heute einer der führenden Full Service Container, Bulk und Tank Reeder*

Schiffsflotte 110 Schiffe

* OFFEN Group mit einer Flotte von 110 modernen Schiffen

… mit umfassenden Erfahrungen im Risikomanagement und der Risikomodellierung von Eigen- und Fremdkapitalportfolien im Bereich von Alternative Assets

Kreditportfolien under Risk Management > 15 Mrd. € *
Einzelkredite under Risk Management > 9.500 *

* CAPLANTIC GmbH (Stand: 31.01.2016)

… kombiniert mit geballtem
Finance Know How

In über 45 Jahren hat die NORD/LB das Geschäftsfeld Schiffsfinanzierungen zu einem strategischen Kernsegment etabliert. Über die lange Tradition ihres Engagements für die maritime Wirtschaft ist sie durch die Zyklen hindurch zu einem der weltweit führenden Schiffsfinanzierer gewachsen.

Weltweit führender Schiffsfinanzierer
Exposure at Default: 18,4 Mrd.

* NORD/LB

Unsere Leistungen

Analyse

Auch die höchsten Türme fangen beim Fundament an

  • Data Mining
  • Due Diligence
  • Portfoliosegmentierung
  • Structuring / Modelling / Bewertung
  • Beratung bei externen Abstimmungsprozessen

Mehr erfahren

Betreuung

Asset-Wertsteigerungen durch die einzigartige Kombination von komplementären Spezialistenwissen

  • Begleitung von Sanierungsprozessen
  • OPEX Optimierung
  • Laufende Bewertung
  • Projektmanagement
  • Reporting / Portfolio Modelling

Mehr erfahren

Exit

Begleitung des gesamten Verkaufsprozesses sowohl einzelner Assets als auch von Portfolien

  • Vendor Due Diligence
  • Placement

Mehr erfahren